Heart Chakra

Color – Green

Element – Air

Seed Sound – YANG

Location – behind the heart

Sanskrit – Anahata translation – unstuck or intact ‘the heart sings without being played’

Physical anatomy engaged – heart, lungs, shoulders, arms, chest, breasts, thymus gland, cardiac nerve plexus.

This chakra is the ‘connector chakra’ between earthly and spiritual chakras. The balance and strength and compassion that you find within your Heart Chakra will be reflected in all areas of your life and in everything that you do. A healthy and open-Heart Chakra enhances your healing ability when used on Self or others. Improving your posture automatically opens your Heart Chakra more fully.

The Chakra represents your ability to give and receive love, your capacity to love yourself and your sense of compassion and empathy for all beings

Blocked symptoms include heart disease, lung problems, relationship problems, commitment issues, fear of intimacy, being judgmental and an inability to feel compassion and you’ll struggle to relate to other people. You will be less compassionate than usual and may be impatient. 

You’ll commonly find it harder than usual to trust, and you won’t feel at peace. Rather, you’ll feel restless and disgruntled that your life seems to have stopped progressing. You have an unusual connection to past events, people and relationships with a “what if… maybe it could have been longing.” A blocked Heart Chakra can also manifest physically. Some Chakra experts think such a misalignment may be linked to issues like high blood pressure and low immune system function.

If you are not meditating, now is the time to start, and, while you have started, also join a Yoga studio or class. After you have a few classes under you belt, ask the instructor to help you with poses intended to help balance the Heart Chakra. Yoga poses to aid in balancing this chakra – Bhujangasana, Gomukhasana, Garudasana, Ustrasana, Matsyasana, Marjaryasana, Urdhva Mukha Svanasana.

You might want to purchase a crystal associated with the Heart Chakra. The crystal is Rose Quartz:

  • Known as the “Love stone”.
  • opens Heart Chakra to all forms of love, self and other
  • lowers stress
  • soothing and happy stone
  • brings gentleness, forgiveness, compassion, kindness and tolerance.
  • raises self-esteem and self-worth
  • emotional balancing stone
  • aids in healing emotional wounds and bringing a sense of peace and calm
  • removes fears, resentments, guilt and anger
  • eases and aids in releasing childhood traumas
  • helpful and protective during pregnancy and with childbirth
  • helps in healing the heart, the circulatory system, fertility, headaches, kidney disease, migraines, sexual dysfunction, sinus problems, throat problems, depressions, addictions, earaches, slowing signs of aging, spleen problems, fibromyalgia and maintaining an ideal weight. 
  • color – pink

It is a stone of unconditional love and infinite peace. Promotes receptivity to beauty in all levels – including love and self-love. An emotional healer, releasing unexpressed emotions and heartache soothing internal pain and opening your heart so that you become receptive. If you have loved and lost, it comforts your grief.  Invokes self-trust and self-worth. Excellent for trauma or crisis, it acts as a rescuer and provides reassurance and calm. Draws off negative energy, strengthens empathy and sensitivity and promotes necessary change. 

You can either carry it in the form of a ring, a pendant, or as a loose crystal in the pocket.

Use Reiki in your private meditation and also use it in your Yoga class. Reiki is intelligent energy and will know your intention in performing the poses you are is to help rebalance your Heart Chakra.

In your private meditation experiment with burning incense. Palo santo wood incense or another that you find cleansing and relaxing. If you find this doesn’t work for you, that is OK. There are no rules here.

Meditation is best done in peace and quiet. Hold your crystal in your left hand if you are sitting, or place it over your heart if laying down. 

Archangel Chamuel governs the Heart Chakra. Ask him to be present. You may feel or sense nothing, you may feel tingling or sense an increase in the vibration of your space. You have after all invited an archangel to your side to help with your Heart Chakra. Speak or think the problem you feel with your Heart Chakra and ask for Chamuel’s help healing it.

As mentioned before, the color associated with the Chakra is Green. You may sense green on the inside of your eyelids, your eyes are closed, aren’t they? You may feel as though the color green is within you and expanding from the Heart Chakra outwards.

Spend some time with this energy, it is healing, comforting and cleansing. Feel the healing inside and out. Allow it to wash over and through you.

Slowly bring yourself out of this state. Breathe deeply and recharge the oxygen in your system. Slowly wake up. Your Heart Chakra has been recharged, but it is one of many on the human body. Let the energy in your heart flow to the others. 

There will be more posts on clearing and energizing other Chakras soon.

To learn more about Reiki and Shamanism click the link

Mark is a Registered Reiki Teacher and Practitioner

Canadian Reiki Association Logo
Canadian Reiki Association Logo

Mark is a Usui Tibetan Reiki Master Teacher

nternational Association of Reiki Practitioners Logo
International Association of Reiki Practitioners Logo