Chakras – Colours, Symbols and Meaning

The Chakras
The Chakras show on a Meditating person

Chakras (pronounced cha-kra with a hard II ch II like chair) are spinning energy centres in the body that lie along the body’s main energy pathways or meridians. They correspond to various aspects of the body’s physical, psychological, emotional and spiritual state. Life force energy, also called Prana in Sanskrit and Chi in Chinese, flow through these centres (like spinning wheels) and when there is an imbalance in one or more chakra that inhibits this flow of energy, there is imbalance in life – behavioural, emotional, physical, spiritual or psychological.

There are seven major chakras located along the midline of the body from the base of the spine to the crown of the head and these are the ones that we mainly deal with during a Reiki session. Sometimes, chakras reflect imbalances in the body, mind or spirit and learning how to read and balance your own chakras (and others when performing Reiki) is a grounded method in order to heal and improve your own life and others.

In later posts we will explore each Chakra in more detail.

The Chakras - colours and symbols
The Chakras and their symbols








[From Usui Reiki Level 1 – Stacey MacDonald Angel Light]